//
you're reading...
General

Straw poll

Just a quick question. Say there’s a blogger who yo find needs help. He/she is a depressive say or someone in pain. How many times would you comment on their posts without getting any comments in return before you stop commenting?

About hbhatnagar

I need to fill this up with much better content than I had populated it with earlier. Why I write a blog maybe? I started blogging in 2009 or thereabouts. I was a newly turned atheist and wanted to converse with others of the same persuasion. We're not exactly a big population group in India! It didn't go very well and I sort of lost interest, posting a few things now and then. I got a lot more regular over the last few months and have been posting almost daily since February '15. There were many reasons why I gradually became more regular in posting, but one way or the other, here I am! So this blog has taken shape, being at different points in time my showcase, my comedy club, my art gallery, my book club, my therapist, my close friend, my innermost self....but always my little corner of the world. You are all welcome to visit and I hope you stay awhile! A few points about me because I don't want to lead anyone on(and trust me this does become an issue more often than I'd care to admit). I'm Indian, the brown-skinned variety; if race, ethnicity or skin colour is an issue, you don't have to get to know me any more than what you see on my blog. I'm 40, so if age is an issue, please be informed accordingly. I was a doctor, an ophthalmic surgeon for 10 years before I quit practice.

Discussion

18 thoughts on “Straw poll

  1. For me, it all depends. If the person is going through a difficult time, I will be patient for a while, but if someone was consistently not visiting my blog, I would eventually lose interest.

    Like

    Posted by Cat | 09/04/2015, 7:14 PM
  2. One time is enough. I think that the person is capable of writing a blog so they should have the resources to respond to comments. If they’re seriously depressed they may lack the will to even bother.

    Liked by 1 person

    Posted by Sabiscuit | 09/04/2015, 3:43 AM
    • I started commenting when this person was posting about their depression and other physical ailments. As long as the going was tough, the communication was prompt. Now that the person is feeling better I find myself ignored.
      That was why I put this question forward.

      Liked by 1 person

      Posted by hbhatnagar | 09/04/2015, 10:43 AM
      • I’m sorry you were ignored. It’s not nice and that’s why I had to write two rants about that kind of thing. People sometimes, I can’t deal with the inconsiderate behaviour.

        Like

        Posted by Sabiscuit | 09/04/2015, 1:06 PM
      • I end up giving the benefit of doubt to people too often. It’s a fault I can’t break free of. Well, I haven’t visited the blog for a couple of days, so maybe that’s a start. ☺

        Liked by 1 person

        Posted by hbhatnagar | 09/04/2015, 1:09 PM
      • Yeah, please don’t go back there. That’s what I mean by “getting it twisted.” You show concern or admiration for someone and they think you’re after them. Gosh. So annoying.

        Liked by 1 person

        Posted by Sabiscuit | 09/04/2015, 1:17 PM
  3. I would keep the lines of communication open. Your words and ideas will help him or her. I know it did for me when I was at the bottom looking up. Besides doesn’t everyone like the idea of helping even a little bit. You may be giving that person the first possible step. I’m getting 30-50 emails a day and I can’t get to every one myself.. I need to cut down on on my following folks.

    Liked by 2 people

    Posted by booguloo | 09/04/2015, 2:17 AM
    • Your followers email you in your inbox or send comments to you through your Reader notifications? You can turn off the email notifications in settings and actually manage the comments when you have free time. Just a thought… x.

      Like

      Posted by Sabiscuit | 09/04/2015, 3:45 AM
    • I started commenting when this person was posting about their depression and other physical ailments. As long as the going was tough, the communication was prompt. Now that the person is feeling better I find myself ignored.
      That was why I put this question forward.

      Like

      Posted by hbhatnagar | 09/04/2015, 10:44 AM
  4. If there is someone who needs help, you mostly have to be very patient while communicating with them. Chances of little or no response are high but I think I’ll still keep trying to push them to talk so they know someone is willing to listen even when they need to take their time to open up..

    Liked by 3 people

    Posted by barrira | 08/04/2015, 10:49 PM
    • I started commenting when this person was posting about their depression and other physical ailments. As long as the going was tough, the communication was prompt. Now that the person is feeling better I find myself ignored.
      That was why I put this question forward.

      Liked by 1 person

      Posted by hbhatnagar | 09/04/2015, 10:44 AM
      • I’m nobody to judge, however that’s a common behaviour now we see around even in our lives.
        Maybe you should give the person some time and they might find their way back, yeah? 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

        Posted by barrira | 10/04/2015, 12:53 AM
      • That’s what I am doing now. Thanks for weighing in, it is nice to hear everyone’s opinions. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

        Posted by hbhatnagar | 10/04/2015, 8:13 AM
  5. I’m not sure. I do think it makes a nice support network when we all reach out to each other as much as we can and it can be disheartening when you get no feedback from someone you constantly try to reach out to. When that happens to me I try to remember they must be busy with work etc. (Since I know that’s what I’m guilty of sometimes) Or maybe they only blog to vent and don’t worry about the feedback much. I guess it depends on the person and it’s all up to you. I think never receiving feedback is frustrating though – both on blogs and in person with people. So it depends how much it bothers you. I’ve got relationships with friends that feel “one way” at times so I totally understand. I guess my advice is, if you’re not getting anything back from the relationship, maybe you could back off and see what happens? Since it does seem to be bothering you. I feel this one is completely at your discretion

    Liked by 2 people

    Posted by mscolebaby | 08/04/2015, 10:17 PM
    • I started commenting when this person was posting about their depression and other physical ailments. As long as the going was tough, the communication was prompt. Now that the person is feeling better I find myself ignored.
      That was why I put this question forward.

      Like

      Posted by hbhatnagar | 09/04/2015, 10:44 AM

Leave a Reply

