//
you're reading...
Challenges and Awards

The Blogger Recognition Award

bloggerrec_award

Thanks again to TessaΒ for this nomination! I think I’ll buy myself a nice shiny trophy like the one in the pic for this one! πŸ˜€ Do visit her blog if you haven’t, it’s an example for people who are in pain, she reaches out when it’s hardest to do so. πŸ™‚

Β» Provide a link to the original post onΒ Edge of Night.Β That way, anyone can find the original guidelines and post if needed, and we can keep it from mutating and becoming confusing!

One rule apart from the normal stuff, so I posted it above.

How I got started blogging

I’ve talked about it in the “about” section. I started blogging when I turned atheist, as a means to find like-minded people to talk to. It didn’t work out too well, atheists are in general too self-involved and supercilious i their ways (you can see that in the way I use my two dollar vocabulary as well). I didn’t find many people and not a lot of views either. So I became a very casual blogger. I started being a little more regular last year when I started posting pics, but that too was a couple of posts a month. I have been blogging almost daily since about February. That was when I had a nervous breakdown. I’ve been a depressive for quite some time and things, well just got too much for me to handle. Anyway, that’s not a story for this place. I’ve been posting almost daily since apart from some broody sabbaticals. I’ve been more engaged and have found some wonderful people out here. Some reached out initially but then receded into the ether,a few stuck around and I am thankful for both kinds, though I hope the stickers find it a little worth their while!

Advice to new bloggers

I feel a little silly doling out advice on blogging, I’m not a blog-celeb or anything. But for what it’s worth, here it is

Be very clear what you want your blog to be about. Is it a personal diary of sorts? Or a celeb gossip deal? A fashion blog? Something on politics? Photography? A focussed effort or a potpourri of whatever strikes your fancy?

Be clear about the level of participation you want from people who might read your blog. Is it a one way street or a two-way communication? I know bloggers who tailor the level of participation for each individual post. There are those who don’t even have a like button. And there are those who measure the quality of their content by the number of comments they get.

Keep a tab in your browser open on a WordPress tag you are interested in. Something to do with your blog. That way, you’ll find out others with similar interest, you’ll interact with like-minded people and you’ll find out where the online trends are headed in your field.

Learn to take criticism. With a smile. And a steely eyed stare, if the situation demands.

And pick a topic you love, so you do keep blogging! πŸ™‚

Or, just ignore all I said and go have fun! Post one post and disappear. Have a hundred blogs. Go nuts! It’s your life and you only get one of these!

 

About hbhatnagar

I need to fill this up with much better content than I had populated it with earlier. Why I write a blog maybe? I started blogging in 2009 or thereabouts. I was a newly turned atheist and wanted to converse with others of the same persuasion. We're not exactly a big population group in India! It didn't go very well and I sort of lost interest, posting a few things now and then. I got a lot more regular over the last few months and have been posting almost daily since February '15. There were many reasons why I gradually became more regular in posting, but one way or the other, here I am! So this blog has taken shape, being at different points in time my showcase, my comedy club, my art gallery, my book club, my therapist, my close friend, my innermost self....but always my little corner of the world. You are all welcome to visit and I hope you stay awhile! A few points about me because I don't want to lead anyone on(and trust me this does become an issue more often than I'd care to admit). I'm Indian, the brown-skinned variety; if race, ethnicity or skin colour is an issue, you don't have to get to know me any more than what you see on my blog. I'm 40, so if age is an issue, please be informed accordingly. I was a doctor, an ophthalmic surgeon for 10 years before I quit practice.

Discussion

30 thoughts on “The Blogger Recognition Award

  1. Congrats! This is the first time I read your blog and this post is totally cool..Gives confidence for newbies like me… Keep going!

    Liked by 1 person

    Posted by Lakshmi | 03/10/2015, 7:51 PM
  2. Congratulations.

    Liked by 1 person

    Posted by Kritika Vashist | 30/07/2015, 8:03 AM
  3. belated congratulations, totally deserved award.

    Liked by 1 person

    Posted by impostorpawn | 26/07/2015, 9:19 PM
  4. Congrats !!

    Liked by 1 person

    Posted by Aaronelpis | 26/07/2015, 8:20 AM
  5. Thanks for yet another good reading!… And congrats on the well deserved award! πŸ™‚
    All the best to you!, Aquileana πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    Posted by Aquileana | 26/07/2015, 7:31 AM
  6. That was nice! ! Congrats uff on countless awards I am jealoused πŸ˜•πŸ˜•πŸ˜•πŸ˜‰πŸ˜‰

    Like

    Posted by izza ifzaal | 26/07/2015, 5:57 AM
  7. You did a wonderful job on the award stuff. I see you still didn’t pick any nominees though LOL!

    Liked by 1 person

    Posted by Tessa | 25/07/2015, 10:31 PM
  8. Than you for sharing your blogging journey and advice, Dr. Hb. πŸ™‚ Enjoy reading your thoughts and insights.

    Liked by 1 person

    Posted by Amy | 25/07/2015, 10:01 PM
  9. Congratulations!!

    Like

    Posted by AKIRAA | 25/07/2015, 8:15 PM

Leave a Reply

