//
you're reading...
Humour

NSFW, very un-PC, very mean Pun of the weak (c. Abyssbrain)

You have been warned!

 

Why are supermodels so anorexically emaciated?

They’re ribbed for your pleasure!

About hbhatnagar

I need to fill this up with much better content than I had populated it with earlier. Why I write a blog maybe? I started blogging in 2009 or thereabouts. I was a newly turned atheist and wanted to converse with others of the same persuasion. We're not exactly a big population group in India! It didn't go very well and I sort of lost interest, posting a few things now and then. I got a lot more regular over the last few months and have been posting almost daily since February '15. There were many reasons why I gradually became more regular in posting, but one way or the other, here I am! So this blog has taken shape, being at different points in time my showcase, my comedy club, my art gallery, my book club, my therapist, my close friend, my innermost self....but always my little corner of the world. You are all welcome to visit and I hope you stay awhile! A few points about me because I don't want to lead anyone on(and trust me this does become an issue more often than I'd care to admit). I'm Indian, the brown-skinned variety; if race, ethnicity or skin colour is an issue, you don't have to get to know me any more than what you see on my blog. I'm 40, so if age is an issue, please be informed accordingly. I was a doctor, an ophthalmic surgeon for 10 years before I quit practice.

Discussion

14 thoughts on “NSFW, very un-PC, very mean Pun of the weak (c. Abyssbrain)

  1. I will admit I had to ponder this one to catch the trojan-ness of the pun. ba-dum-bum-CHSH. I would add that, as I once heard in an NPR interview, in humor, someone always gets hurt. There is has to be the fall guy. Of course, there are no absolutes and there is an exception to every rule (and a rule to every exception). As someone who suffers from both bipolar and anxiety disorders, I am surrounded by books, movies, plays and stand-ups who basically base their “punchline” on the foundation of my disorders. Woody Allen made a fortune playing me. Wen I drove a cab for a living, I became aware of the cabbie being one of the go-to people when a movie or tv show wanted to get some laughs at someone’s expense (there are only so many ways you can weave a lawyer or a used–car salesman into the story).

    A few quotes:
    To make mistakes is human; to stumble is commonplace; to be able to laugh at yourself is maturity. — William Arthur Ward

    Anyone who takes himself too seriously always runs the risk of looking ridiculous; anyone who can consistently laugh at himself does not. — Vaclav Havel

    Yet the best determining factor of how comfortable we are with ourselves, is our ability to laugh at ourselves.”
    ― Wes Adamson

    I believe that the ability to laugh at oneself is fundamental to the resiliency of the human spirit.”
    ― Jill Conner Browne

    Liked by 2 people

    Posted by Elusive Trope | 05/12/2015, 3:53 AM
  2. I thought the joke was funny because of the obvious Durex reference. People think I’m anorexic and they’re pretty mean about it. On Wednesday, I heard, “You shouldn’t wear dresses because you’re tall and will die of cold.” Some think that people who suffer from anorexia are self harming for the sake of vanity. The judgemental statements are tantamount to an accusation. This makes it difficult for people who are struggling to get help. I know people who are anorexic. They are not vain. It has nothing to do with looking beautiful. You’re a medical doctor and I am sure you understand a book’s worth of the psychology behind the disease. I trust that you get that.

    I used to model professionally. I was considered “athletic” at 177 cm and 53 kg. My doctors would ask me to please not get any smaller. All I did was not eat chocolate or potato crisps. I wore the smallest dress size but photographers would photoshop my ribs out of photos even while saying I’m “too big.” It is bizarre and I think people demanding those standards are messed up. The people who nitpick at body size and looks are rather plain looking, boring, don’t eat properly, have bad skin and wear the same clothes every day, if memory serves. I’ve never met an anorexic model before. You’d be shocked at how much they eat. Standing around in your pants for 20 hours without a break looking rather pleased with yourself requires lots of energy. Of course, most people don’t consider it a job. Peace be unto them.

    The tissue paper eating thing is rare too, especially for ballerinas. They have a special diet that keeps them full of energy and shreds fat. I used to train with professional dancers when I had an ankle injury that kept me from climbing or running. I spend a lot of time around ballerinas and some of them are bigger than I am.

    Most people don’t want to eat like dancers because they’ve been taught that it’s normal to stuff ourselves with sugar and starch. It’s easier to buy into the myth that those bodies are sculpted by an absence of calories. It is more dramatic and glamorous than thinking of them as pretty normal, boring people who smoke and drink. A lack of exposure can be a dangerous thing.

    Liked by 4 people

    Posted by Sabiscuit | 04/12/2015, 1:18 PM
  3. “Pun of the weak” sums it up nicely. Making fun of other human beings and their struggles is pretty weak.

    Like

    Posted by C. T. | 04/12/2015, 12:05 PM
  4. I might not have been clear enough. Since I don’t know you personally I cannot lose respect for you as a person. But for your writing. Jokes are awesome but not those that hurt people. I’ve not meant to imply that you do not know any struggles, but you obviously don’t realise the struggles of eating disorders. You don’t know what it’s like to sit in front of a plate of food for 2 hours, crying. Wanting to eat but not being physically able to. When food actually scares you so much that you avoid spending time with your loved ones in fear of having to eat. This destroys your life and recovery is hard. There is no “side of models”. There is a side of people who are going through this. I am not offended by your joke but rather hurt and disappointed. I agree it may be stupid to take one joke seriously enough to unfollow someone. But after all it was a joke you found so funny that you share it with the world. And hurt everyone who’s ever been having issues with food – and there are likely more people than you think. I wish you peace too but it is comments like this “joke” that make me think peace is something us human beings are not capable of.

    Like

    Posted by C. T. | 04/12/2015, 12:02 PM
    • The subtext being that you could have no respect for me as a person since you don’t know me as one. That’s fine too. As for jokes, it’s a subjective thing and I do not try to impose my judgement of the and on another. The butt of the joke was models, but you see it another way. I don’t want to explain my struggles, I prefer not to at the moment. The is a show of models, some who stuff their stomach with tissue paper to quell hunger cramps, of a fashion industry that glorifies wispy thin waifs. I’m sorry you’re hurt enough to unfollow me, but remember, we’re all very liberal except when it comes to our pet notions. Peace is what I still wish for you, whether we are able to keep it or not.

      Liked by 2 people

      Posted by hbhatnagar | 04/12/2015, 12:10 PM
  5. You obviously don’t know what it’s like to struggle with an eating disorder. Why is it ok to make fun of this but not to make fun of someone missing a limb or suffering from cancer? It’s also a disease. You have no idea of the struggle. I know it’s a joke but it’s not funny. Anorexia kills. You’ve lost my respect.

    Like

    Posted by C. T. | 04/12/2015, 11:39 AM
    • I don’t believe models side from anorexia, and I don’t believe in holy cows. I’m sorry you feel offended and I hope you understand that a joke is a joke. You have the right to not think it’s funny, but don’t think I know nothing of struggles. If one joke makes you lose respect for a person that’s your prerogative, but making a joke in mine too. If you think I’m insensitive you probably haven’t read many posts by me, but I’m not going to defend myself or show my scars. It wasn’t my intent to offend anyone but anything anyone says can and probably will offend someone. It’s what we do with it that shows where we stand. I wish you peace

      Liked by 4 people

      Posted by hbhatnagar | 04/12/2015, 11:45 AM
  6. Pure Genius!!!!

    Liked by 2 people

    Posted by booguloo | 04/12/2015, 10:25 AM
  7. Yikes!

    Liked by 1 person

    Posted by priyankamoraes | 04/12/2015, 9:31 AM

Leave a Reply

