//
you're reading...
General

47 R H

No two phrase challenge for today I’m afraid. I had thought I could drag it along till an year at least, but a number of factors has meant that I do not have the energy in me to keep up with this. Maybe at some future date, who knows? I’m sorry if anyone came to my blog for the silly little word game, I wish I had had it in me to post one more….

About hbhatnagar

I need to fill this up with much better content than I had populated it with earlier. Why I write a blog maybe? I started blogging in 2009 or thereabouts. I was a newly turned atheist and wanted to converse with others of the same persuasion. We're not exactly a big population group in India! It didn't go very well and I sort of lost interest, posting a few things now and then. I got a lot more regular over the last few months and have been posting almost daily since February '15. I was, and am suffering from depression and things had gotten out of control. I had chronicled it in my posts, but I have removed them. Not because I wanted to hide that facet of my life; if that were the case, I wouldn't be writing this. But I was lucky to come across many, many wonderful people out here who helped me. Even if it was just to post and tell me I wasn't alone. I can't tell you how thankful I am for all of you. I've tried since, to tell my own story as an attempt at catharsis (didn't work) and as a means of telling others that they weren't alone either, not in their depression, nor in their cutting or burning, nor in their thoughts of and attempts at suicide. So this blog has taken shape, being at different points in time my showcase, my comedy club, my art gallery, my book club, my therapist, my close friend, my innermost dark self....but always my little corner of the world. You are all welcome to visit and I hope you stay awhile! A few points about me because I don't want to lead anyone on. I'm Indian, the brown-skinned variety; if race, ethnicity or skin colour is an issue, you don't have to get to know me any more than what you see on my blog. I'm 40, so if age is an issue, please be informed accordingly. I was a doctor, an ophthalmic surgeon for 10 years before I quit practice. I am a depressive, have been for some time, so some things do trigger me for no rhyme or reason; I don't expect anyone to understand that this happens, just maybe accept that it does. If not, I am sorry.

Discussion

27 thoughts on “47 R H

  1. Silly game?! Then searching for it makes me silly?! Nope.. No way I could be silly and hence the game is not at all silly!

    I had been searching your blog for the past half an hour.. (I am sleepy so it must be just few minutes otherwise.. :P)
    I thought I was the one who missed it on the last few weeks.. So I am guiltily happy for not missing out any.. But I would miss the exercise (the only one I had done more regularly than anything else.. :P)

    Just reminding you that your single phrase has kindled this chatterbox to fill out long posts rather than just one more phrase, most of the times.. Thanks for those opportunities!

    I certainly believe that few things are better when it ends and TPS is definitely one of them.. So I hope I don’t miss it when it is back.. 😉 (Oh yes, it is when and not if.. 😉 )

    For now, I will go and search what wisdom the Sigh baba hath for consoling me for this loss! 😉

    Take care! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Posted by Aadhira | 12/07/2016, 1:28 AM
  2. I might be asking for a loan of your crutches soon.

    Liked by 1 person

    Posted by Jane Dougherty | 02/07/2016, 9:27 PM
  3. Come back soon and take care .

    Liked by 1 person

    Posted by thatmishmash | 01/07/2016, 9:44 AM
  4. No one should ever feel obligated to sustain a “challenge” simply because of someone’s expectation that it should continue. This is true of any art, whether it be a television series the writers feel have run its course or theatrical group who close a show after run of a couple of years. Thank you for what you have inspired. The two phrase story challenge was fun, but it was also something more…in part because it was a collective hive. Again, thanks.

    And to honor your challenge in my own way, I’ll announce here officially for the first time…[building dramatic tension]…I will host ‘Magnetic Poetry Saturday’ Challenge (Invitational?). [still working on the title…no so dramatic ending].

    Liked by 1 person

    Posted by Elusive Trope | 01/07/2016, 9:18 AM
    • Thank you Doug, for your kind words and for egging me on for the two phrase story. I loved it, and still do. And I want to have the energy to pick it up again. Meanwhile I have Jane Dougherty’s and now your poetry challenges to look forward to. Thanks again, and waiting for your ‘magnetic’ challenge. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      Posted by hbhatnagar | 01/07/2016, 9:25 AM
  5. Your two phrase challenge is brilliant. It’s different from any other challenges in our blogosphere. I loved it at the beginning. I understand how time and energy consuming it can be.
    Thank you, Dr. Hb for letting us enjoy it for this long! 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    Posted by Amy | 30/06/2016, 6:36 PM
  6. I came for the ‘silly little word game’ but stayed for you pun if the weak and the wisdom of sigh baba 😊 Your blog- do whatever yiu want! 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    Posted by 10000hoursleft | 30/06/2016, 12:29 PM
  7. “I wish I had it in me to post one more…. he said with a gasp as he fell to his knees just short of the finish line.” I am really gonna miss this. Maybe you could make cuts elsewhere in your life? Shorter shower? Or maybe skip bathing completely? Ummm. Maybe by a whole closet full of the same pants and shirts so you don’t waste time figuring out what to wear? Or hell, go nude. Who needs clothes anyway? Stop shaving? I could go on….

    Liked by 1 person

    Posted by Victo Dolore | 30/06/2016, 8:08 AM
  8. Oh no! I hope everything is okay.

    Liked by 1 person

    Posted by Crow | 30/06/2016, 7:37 AM

Leave a Reply

Goodreads

