//
you're reading...
General, Personal

A guest

Over a month ago, I got a text from an old patient of mine, asking for my address. Took me a little down memory lane.

I had operated on this guy when he was a teenager. There was a suspicious (and ugly-looking, which was of more import to him) growth in his right eye and I excised and engrafted with delightful post-op results. The histo-path report on the lesion had come back with a suspicion of malignancy but I reassured him and kept him only under observation.

Over the years he would often drop in for a visit for an unscheduled examination or with a relative from some far-flung town in tow who had had asked to come in for the “best ophthal consultation” around.

And now this kid was all grown-up and getting married and was inviting me for his wedding. How could I say no? So I drove all the way to his home-town to attend his wedding, where I knew I would be pretty much a stranger.

Only as it turned out, I wasn’t. Not exactly. I met a handful of people in that throng who recognized me immediately. I had treated them or a family member at some point in time and they still remembered me, even if I didn’t remember them. Some remarked how they missed me on their last visit to me erstwhile hospital. A few even wanted to touch my feet (a sign of utmost respect in Indian culture), something I strongly disapprove of and discourage.

I didn’t stay long, i had a busy day next morning and a long-ish drive back home through the night. But it felt nice to be recognized, remembered, and missed. To know that I had touched so many lives, that I had Β made such a difference. I don’t say I miss practising medicine that much, but it felt good to know my years as a surgeon had truly not been in vain.

You might say I shouldn’t need that reassurance and you might be right, but it was good to have it nonetheless.

About hbhatnagar

I need to fill this up with much better content than I had populated it with earlier. Why I write a blog maybe? I started blogging in 2009 or thereabouts. I was a newly turned atheist and wanted to converse with others of the same persuasion. We're not exactly a big population group in India! It didn't go very well and I sort of lost interest, posting a few things now and then. I got a lot more regular over the last few months and have been posting almost daily since February '15. I was, and am suffering from depression and things had gotten out of control. I had chronicled it in my posts, but I have removed them. Not because I wanted to hide that facet of my life; if that were the case, I wouldn't be writing this. But I was lucky to come across many, many wonderful people out here who helped me. Even if it was just to post and tell me I wasn't alone. I can't tell you how thankful I am for all of you. I've tried since, to tell my own story as an attempt at catharsis (didn't work) and as a means of telling others that they weren't alone either, not in their depression, nor in their cutting or burning, nor in their thoughts of and attempts at suicide. So this blog has taken shape, being at different points in time my showcase, my comedy club, my art gallery, my book club, my therapist, my close friend, my innermost dark self....but always my little corner of the world. You are all welcome to visit and I hope you stay awhile! A few points about me because I don't want to lead anyone on. I'm Indian, the brown-skinned variety; if race, ethnicity or skin colour is an issue, you don't have to get to know me any more than what you see on my blog. I'm 40, so if age is an issue, please be informed accordingly. I was a doctor, an ophthalmic surgeon for 10 years before I quit practice. I am a depressive, have been for some time, so some things do trigger me for no rhyme or reason; I don't expect anyone to understand that this happens, just maybe accept that it does. If not, I am sorry.

Discussion

33 thoughts on “A guest

  1. I thought this a lovely piece. Very humbling and you must think of it as a small reward for your hard work. As you say the fact that he invited you to the wedding must mean he holds you in high regard. Doesn’t that make you feel good about what you do.. in some quiet place you go to… I rather liked the way you made an effort to go. That shows a decency in you !! ( and that’s enough of that from me. πŸ™‚ )

    Liked by 1 person

    Posted by Jackie | 18/10/2016, 5:55 PM
  2. Nice post like it πŸ™‚ ❀
    i like your article somuch ..
    thanks for share it ..
    Come , Visit And Review My Article My Friend πŸ™‚
    https://kenikmatanpria.wordpress.com/category/english-corner/

    Liked by 1 person

    Posted by We Share Love And Joy | 12/10/2016, 10:14 AM
  3. You absolutely should get that reassurance from a job well done. That is why I respect you. Your hands and your mind have helped so many people. I am so happy your former patient and you have a great relationship and that he invited you to his wedding. I imagine how thrilled you were to ride out there to see him. I am happy that you don’t miss practising but I there is a part of me that wished you would be able to help a lot more people. I hope you still can. Best regards. xoxoxoxo

    Liked by 1 person

    Posted by Sabiscuit | 26/09/2016, 12:22 PM
    • Thank you Sabiscuit! It was a nice to get that pat in the back and to feel I actually did something….I hope to do something like that again, maybe part-time charity work. Let’s see.

      Liked by 1 person

      Posted by hbhatnagar | 26/09/2016, 7:21 PM
      • No time like the present. I see classic car fundraisers in your future. I get lots of time off from work with travel allowances to do my volunteer projects because I convinced my bosses they would provide much needed visibility/publicity. I’m busy but it’s worth it.

        Liked by 1 person

        Posted by Sabiscuit | 27/09/2016, 2:54 AM
      • You lead a lovely life! My bosses would never buy that. I’d only get another project if I suggested something similar since that would mean I have (gasp) free time! Lol

        Liked by 1 person

        Posted by hbhatnagar | 27/09/2016, 6:21 AM
      • Your post lunch meetings are technically free time, so you win, anyway. xo

        Like

        Posted by Sabiscuit | 27/09/2016, 6:50 AM
  4. How wonderful, it sounds like your retirement is a big loss to ophthalmology.

    Liked by 1 person

    Posted by Lucid Gypsy | 23/09/2016, 11:15 AM
  5. A doctors are living gods Himanshuji…. they touch many lives…soothe their pain and treat them from ailment…good to know that you are one of them…

    Liked by 1 person

    Posted by Sri Sudha K | 22/09/2016, 9:35 PM
  6. Everyone needs that reassurance, Dr. Hb. How nice to be recognized as you were. What a truly delightful and moving story. Thank you for allowing us a glimpse of your life. ❀

    Liked by 2 people

    Posted by AmyRose🌹 | 22/09/2016, 6:15 PM
  7. I just love this post. Love, love love.

    Liked by 1 person

    Posted by Soumya Mishra | 22/09/2016, 5:28 PM
  8. What a moving story to share. I can’t imagine the joyfulness of meeting them. I’m sure it was a special night for them of meeting you. Thank you so much for sharing with us, Dr. Hb. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    Posted by Amy | 22/09/2016, 4:38 PM
  9. That desire is a basic human need and nothing to be ashamed of. So glad you found it. You DID and DO make a difference. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    Posted by Victo Dolore | 22/09/2016, 4:30 PM
  10. Always good to get that reassurance! And you were a surgeon (retired?), and your grandfather a doctor. In the family!

    Liked by 1 person

    Posted by Mick Canning | 22/09/2016, 2:24 PM
  11. Thank you for the link up Amy! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    Posted by hbhatnagar | 22/09/2016, 9:01 PM

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Thursday Travel: City of York (Part 2) | The World Is a Book... - 22/09/2016

Leave a Reply

Goodreads

