//
you're reading...
Personal

40

Turned 40 yesterday. Was I happy it was my birthday? I don’t think many are, once they are out of their teens. But who am I to say that?

Given my genetic background I’m through with less than half my life, but it seems so much longer. And the last so many years seemed compacted into a space much less than one childhood summer.

It was a vague uneasiness, and a silence that screamed in such a cliched manner. It supposed to be a milestone, a major point in a person’s life. You change from young to middle-aged, you move from one age-demographic to another, you’re supposed to start winding down and enjoying the fruits of your youthful labors……these are the trite words that keep staring at me when I close my eyes. And when I open them, it’s a blank stare.

40 down, 50(?) to go….

About hbhatnagar

I need to fill this up with much better content than I had populated it with earlier. Why I write a blog maybe? I started blogging in 2009 or thereabouts. I was a newly turned atheist and wanted to converse with others of the same persuasion. We're not exactly a big population group in India! It didn't go very well and I sort of lost interest, posting a few things now and then. I got a lot more regular over the last few months and have been posting almost daily since February '15. There were many reasons why I gradually became more regular in posting, but one way or the other, here I am! So this blog has taken shape, being at different points in time my showcase, my comedy club, my art gallery, my book club, my therapist, my close friend, my innermost self....but always my little corner of the world. You are all welcome to visit and I hope you stay awhile! A few points about me because I don't want to lead anyone on(and trust me this does become an issue more often than I'd care to admit). I'm Indian, the brown-skinned variety; if race, ethnicity or skin colour is an issue, you don't have to get to know me any more than what you see on my blog. I'm 40, so if age is an issue, please be informed accordingly. I was a doctor, an ophthalmic surgeon for 10 years before I quit practice.

Discussion

44 thoughts on “40

  1. I seem to have missed this one. It must have been because I was so involved with the Trump Campaign!! I think I am his only WordPress Follower. Anyway, enough of that

    So you are now 40 years old. Almost grown up? Look, at 20 years ahead of you I can say that it son starts to go really fast but in some way its better. Calmer – more focus and less aggro
    Stop the angst and get out there and have some fun.
    I hope you had a lovely birthday in the middle of the Festival of Lights. That’s a sign….
    What are your plans for the next 20 years then?

    Liked by 1 person

    Posted by Jackie | 18/11/2016, 4:27 PM
    • Thank you for the wishes and I know a lot got buried in the Trump-quake. πŸ™‚
      I don’t now about the next 20 (though it’s nice to talk to someone beyond my stage in life), I’ll just see how the next one goes! πŸ™‚

      Like

      Posted by hbhatnagar | 19/11/2016, 9:33 AM
      • I always think things do get better and never look back. At each stage of your life you want or are interested in new things. Embrace them all. Each time I thought I was at 2 the best time” and then lo and behold things seem to get better. Of course they don’t really, your tastes just change. Its a great time to be young. You are just about to kick the Baby Boomers into touch and take over the world. Hang on tight.

        Liked by 1 person

        Posted by Jackie | 19/11/2016, 4:33 PM
      • Thank you for the lovely words Jackie! πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

        Posted by hbhatnagar | 19/11/2016, 6:14 PM
  2. Happy birthday! Ah 40 .. I sure wouldn’t mind being that age again ..

    Liked by 1 person

    Posted by Julie@frogpondfarm | 25/10/2016, 12:22 PM
  3. Happy Belated Birthday. Birthdays are just like any other days and everyday is a milestone to celebrate and move on. Best wishes.

    Liked by 1 person

    Posted by Indira | 24/10/2016, 10:36 AM
  4. Haha! A day to just be and concentrate on the self and may be introspect. Happy birthday to you.

    Liked by 1 person

    Posted by g3 | 23/10/2016, 2:25 PM
  5. Belated happy birthday H!
    Despite all your feelings on this day, there is one thing that trumps everything else, cake!!! πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    Posted by story teller | 23/10/2016, 2:14 PM
  6. Happy Birthday, Dr Hb!! πŸŽ‚
    Life is short, enjoy whatever the stage we are. πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    Posted by Amy | 22/10/2016, 8:33 PM
  7. Happy birthday Doc! Wishing you many more happy and healthy years to come πŸŽ‰πŸŽˆ.

    Liked by 1 person

    Posted by The Anxiety Chronicles | 22/10/2016, 5:37 PM
  8. Happy birthday! 40 sucks and is so over rated.

    Liked by 1 person

    Posted by Victo Dolore | 22/10/2016, 4:25 PM
  9. Oh, Himanshu. 40? You are still a youngster! Happy birthday!

    Liked by 1 person

    Posted by Mick Canning | 22/10/2016, 3:22 PM
  10. A great post. And wish you a very Happy birthday πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    Posted by Kavita Chavda | 22/10/2016, 2:20 PM
  11. Belated happy birthday πŸ˜‡πŸŽ‚

    Liked by 1 person

    Posted by Breezing whims | 22/10/2016, 1:40 PM
  12. Happy Birthday, H. The plus side to turning 40 is that you can do WHATEVER you want. One morning, you’re going to wake up, rip off your pyjama top and notice the Superman costume under it. You’re also a fire dragon so you normally feel invincible anyway, but don’t hold back, and make sure to dress up before kicking butt. I’m a woman and vain, so I ban people from even looking at me on my birthday. However, some people get around that by leaving me gifts without cards (so I won’t know who to yell at). I hope you got some good gifts and may the best one be a truly rewarding year. Have a great year 40.0.

    Liked by 1 person

    Posted by Sabiscuit | 22/10/2016, 12:08 PM
  13. Happy birthday.

    It’s just a number.

    Liked by 1 person

    Posted by crow | 22/10/2016, 11:24 AM
  14. Happy Birthday Dr H! And hurrah for a fellow ’76 dragon πŸ™‚

    Middle age- whatever I say. You only ever have now, and that is a certainty in each age we arrive at. Time does seem to have quickened though…

    Liked by 2 people

    Posted by 10000hoursleft | 22/10/2016, 11:19 AM
  15. Imagine how surprised I am, having passed that milestone some nineteen years ago, that my outlook on life has not really changed so much….It has merely “set” in its ways a bit ! Happy Birthday, H ! ; )

    Liked by 2 people

    Posted by williamleeone | 22/10/2016, 10:55 AM

Leave a Reply

