//
you're reading...
Art

Fondation Beyeler – Monet 23

Charing Cross Bridge, Fog on the Thames. Monet was in London at the turn of the century and painted the foggy atmosphere like a man possessed. This work, one of many on the Charing Cross bridge typify his treatment of the subject. The fog envelops and blurs everything. The sun seems weak and almost impotent, it’s color and warmth circumscribed to its disk and a faint stain on the waters of the Thames. It’s high up in the sky, so it’s not early morning and yet the mists reign unabated. Through all that though, three things, three man-made creations come through to us: a chimney, a boat, and the bridge. Is there smoke in the air as well? Will that boat shine brighter as it moves into the sun-dappled patch?

About hbhatnagar

I need to fill this up with much better content than I had populated it with earlier. Why I write a blog maybe? I started blogging in 2009 or thereabouts. I was a newly turned atheist and wanted to converse with others of the same persuasion. We're not exactly a big population group in India! It didn't go very well and I sort of lost interest, posting a few things now and then. I got a lot more regular over the last few months and have been posting almost daily since February '15. There were many reasons why I gradually became more regular in posting, but one way or the other, here I am! So this blog has taken shape, being at different points in time my showcase, my comedy club, my art gallery, my book club, my therapist, my close friend, my innermost self....but always my little corner of the world. You are all welcome to visit and I hope you stay awhile! A few points about me because I don't want to lead anyone on(and trust me this does become an issue more often than I'd care to admit). I'm Indian, the brown-skinned variety; if race, ethnicity or skin colour is an issue, you don't have to get to know me any more than what you see on my blog. I'm 40, so if age is an issue, please be informed accordingly. I was a doctor, an ophthalmic surgeon for 10 years before I quit practice.

Discussion

16 thoughts on “Fondation Beyeler – Monet 23

  1. I want to do a post. Would like let me use this photo and quote your description of the painting?

    Liked by 1 person

    Posted by Amy | 21/07/2017, 12:15 AM
  2. I’m not sure if you want to search on my site for your poems or you want me to sent you the links. Sorry about being slow…

    Liked by 1 person

    Posted by Amy | 09/07/2017, 10:10 PM
  3. Just imagining what you must have felt when you saw this. Oh wow! 🌸

    Liked by 1 person

    Posted by AmyRose🌹 | 30/06/2017, 3:30 AM
  4. Coincidentally, I saw another version of this painting yesterday afternoon at the Getty Art Museum (I’m in CA again). The tour guide took us to the painting explaining the lighting, etc. I was wondering what you’d say… Here I’m reading your post. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    Posted by Amy | 29/06/2017, 9:12 PM
    • What a lovely coincidence! What did the guide have to say about the work? And what was your experience seeing it live? πŸ™‚

      Like

      Posted by hbhatnagar | 30/06/2017, 5:51 AM
      • I was so surprised…
        She talked about the history of Impressionism, and pointed this painting to explain the lighting and colors that Monet did. She used this one was because it had been criticized as an ugly painting back then. I tried to absorb her talk much as I could to her talk, had no room to think about the painting. I won’t be able to sense like you did. πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

        Posted by Amy | 30/06/2017, 8:08 AM
      • I remember reading somewhere that a critic said that even wallpaper ad more artistic depth than Monet. πŸ˜€
        Impressionism was a movement so dramatic that it took a long time for people to really understand and appreciate it.

        Like

        Posted by hbhatnagar | 30/06/2017, 8:13 AM
      • It took a while… unlike Van Gogh, they saw the positive influence/result. The tube oil for painting helped the movement. The exhibit rooms was packed with people, it was impossible to appreciate these painting quietly.

        Liked by 1 person

        Posted by Amy | 30/06/2017, 8:50 AM
      • Sorry I hit the reply by accident… 😨

        Like

        Posted by Amy | 30/06/2017, 8:09 AM

Leave a Reply

